Archive for August 20th, 2007|Daily archive page

Vick pleads guilty.

Take a good, hard look. We won’t be seeing this for a while.

I would like to think that I’m surprised by Vick pleading guilty today, but I’m not. No matter how rich you are, no matter how cool the media and fans think you are, if the Feds want you, they will get you.

Even though Vick is pleading guilty to a horrible crime, I can’t help but feel bad for him. Vick is a decent guy that has made a bad mistake that he may pay for with his football career. His ordeal could be used as a good lesson for other players in the league – be mindful of the company you keep.

You may notice that even though I condemn his crime, that I’m not spewing venom like the always reliable kooks at PETA. It’s simple – I don’t really care about this crime. I’ll say it again, dogfighting is terrible, but it does not equal the lunacy of keeping a procedure legal that kills 46 million people each year. Until the anger and outrage is as loud against that “procedure” as is was about this terrible incident, consider me indifferent.